RF Generation.  The Classic and Modern Gaming Databases.RF Generation.  The Classic and Modern Gaming Databases.

New on the Blogs
Hot Community Blog Entries
Nielsen's Favorites on Channel 4
RF Generation Message Board Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 23, 2017, 07:36:26 AM
Home Help Search Calendar Member Map Arcade Login Register
News: Welcome to the newer faster Channel 3!

RF Generation Message Board | Gaming | Video Game Generation | Getting my 360 online 0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Getting my 360 online  (Read 1467 times)
Izret101
Postmaster General; Wielder of the Mighty Banhammer
Director
*****
United States
Posts: 22654


WWW Stats

Champion of
    

More>>
« on: March 20, 2009, 06:23:52 PM »

I believe i have a ethernet cable long enough to do it but i wanted to ask before i tried.

Can i get my 360 online thru my PC?
I have wireless internet but i don't want to go buy an adapter right now for the system.
Logged

Mr. Ksoft
Sega 32X
**
Posts: 256


WWW Stats
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2009, 07:15:38 PM »

You most certainly can.  I have my 360 online through that exact setup.

Plug in the 360's ethernet cable, set the wireless connection to shared.  It should work after that.  You might have to turn off your firewall for it to work... that's the case with me.  It's unsafe to do that, unfortunately, but my router does firewalling too so I'm not extremely worried about keeping my firewall off for an hour or two at a time.
Logged

Interesting stuff:
Monochrome Nightmares (self-made games)
Exploding Jellyfish (self-made music)
Izret101
Postmaster General; Wielder of the Mighty Banhammer
Director
*****
United States
Posts: 22654


WWW Stats

Champion of
    

More>>
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2009, 07:32:27 PM »

Sweet.
Glad someone else has the same set up Smiley

I could run it to the wireless router but the wire will be much less visible and more out of the way running it to my PC.
The router is upstairs so my brother has his cable running thru his doorway, in another set of closet doors, up the laundry shoot, out a set of doors, around a hallway corner thru another doorway and finally into the router.

All i have to do is run it around the edge of the living room Smiley
Logged

NES_Rules
Director
*****
United States
Posts: 4722
Awards: I live here



 Stats
« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2009, 08:32:28 PM »

I did not know this was possible. It's too bad I can't do this using my Wii instead of a computer.
Logged



We've lost power in the forward Game Boy, Mario is not responding
James
King of Waffle
Donor
*****
United Kingdom
Posts: 4184


 Stats

Champion of
 
« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2009, 04:41:45 AM »

I used to have my 360 on a shared wireless connection through my PC. The signal kept dropping out while I was playing online, which was very annoying. Strangely, it was saying the game couldn't continue because there was no connection, but I could still talk to people... for a while. Then it completely cut out.

Now I have a long cable going upstairs to a second router in my room and I have all my PCs and consoles and stuff going to that. The cable trailing through the house is not pretty but it's a lot less hassle than ICS.
Logged
den68
loves White Castle!
DB Contributor
***
Posts: 5743


 Stats
« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2009, 06:14:15 AM »

Now I have a long cable going upstairs to a second router in my room and I have all my PCs and consoles and stuff going to that. The cable trailing through the house is not pretty but it's a lot less hassle than ICS.

Hey I do that too. My internet connection is in a bedroom on the main floor. When I go on Xbox live I have a cable running out of that bedroom, into the bathroom, down the laundry shute, into the basement bathroom and out of that bathroom to my Xbox.
Logged

Izret101
Postmaster General; Wielder of the Mighty Banhammer
Director
*****
United States
Posts: 22654


WWW Stats

Champion of
    

More>>
« Reply #6 on: March 21, 2009, 06:57:07 AM »

I did not know this was possible. It's too bad I can't do this using my Wii instead of a computer.

I really wish i could do it with the Wii instead since i would only need a foot of cable :-/
Logged

Tynstar
Achievement Whore
DB Editor
****
United States
Posts: 15600


 Stats
« Reply #7 on: March 21, 2009, 05:46:54 PM »


When I go on Xbox live I have a cable running out of that bedroom, into the bathroom, down the laundry shute, into the basement bathroom and out of that bathroom to my Xbox.

Thats awesome!
Logged



Only in the darkness of Christ have I realized
God Hates Us All
Izret101
Postmaster General; Wielder of the Mighty Banhammer
Director
*****
United States
Posts: 22654


WWW Stats

Champion of
    

More>>
« Reply #8 on: March 21, 2009, 07:22:51 PM »

Turns out my uber long cable is the one my brother is using for his 360...

One of the awesome members on the site has already proposed a trade for a wireless adapter Smiley
Logged

Izret101
Postmaster General; Wielder of the Mighty Banhammer
Director
*****
United States
Posts: 22654


WWW Stats

Champion of
    

More>>
« Reply #9 on: March 25, 2009, 10:14:59 PM »

OK so i have the wireless adapter now.

I can't figure out why it won't pick up the wireless signal!

My PC is farther away from the wireless router than the 360 is.
I tried unplugging the wireless phone we have to make sure that couldn't be the cause.

WHAT COULD BE DOING THIS!
WHY AM I SO GOD DAMNED UNLUCKY!

EDIT
FUCK YOU TEAMXBOX.COM!!!!
Quote
We have been using the adapter for more than a week now, attached to both retail and XeDK units, in rooms full of consumer electronics, including cordless phones, other wireless network cards, and even microwave ovens.

No interferences, no glitches, no interruptions at all. And if you have been asking yourself the same question we had for months, here is the answer: There is no interference at all between the Xbox 360 wireless controllers and the Xbox 360 wireless networking adapter.

Also sorry for outburst of swears in most if not all of my posts tonight. I am pretty fucking frustrated!!!
« Last Edit: March 25, 2009, 11:44:53 PM by Izret101 » Logged

Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Simple Audio Video Embedder

RF Generation Theme derived from YabbGrey By Nesianstyles | Buttons by A.M.A
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.121 seconds with 22 queries.
Site content Copyright © rfgeneration.com unless otherwise noted. Oh, and keep it on channel three.